News Sections
Indiana University Student Named Rhodes Scholar
Updated November 28, 2016 7:17 AM | Filed under: Education
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BLOOMINGTON) - Indiana University senior Morgan Mohr has been named a 2017 Rhodes Scholar.

She is one of 32 U.S. college students to win the prestigious academic award that provides full financial support for the pursuit of a degree or degrees at Oxford University in the United Kingdom. This year, about 2,500 students applied for the scholarships.

Mohr is majoring in political science, history and feminist policy through the individualized major program. She has a 3.97 grade-point average and serves on the Board of Aeons, a panel of student leaders that advises the university president on policies affecting students. She plans to graduate this spring and study comparative social policy at Oxford. She intends to pursue a career in law and public policy.

Mohr was the valedictorian for the class of 2013 at Kokomo High School and came to IU as a Wells Scholar, which is the university's most prestigious scholarship.

While at IU, Mohr has been heavily involved in politics. She has been a White House intern with the Office of the First Lady, an investigator intern with the U.S. Office of Equal Employment Opportunity, director of operations for the primary election campaign of Bloomington Mayor John Hamilton, a field organizer for the Human Rights Campaign organization and lead campus organizer for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender rights advocacy group Freedom Indiana.

In fall 2015, Mohr studied political science and history at University College in London and worked as a policy researcher for the U.K. Women's Equality Party. This fall, she worked for the Clinton campaign, serving as an intern to the chief operating officer at national headquarters in Brooklyn, New York, and then as deputy operations director for the Florida Democratic Coordinated Campaign. She has also volunteered at Planned Parenthood and Middle Way House.

Mohr is IU's 17th Rhodes Scholar, and the first since 2011. She is the only Rhodes Scholar in this year's group to come from a Big Ten university, according to a news release from IU.

IU Rhodes Scholars

  • 1905 -- Frank Aydelotte
  • 1913 -- Richard Simpson
  • 1919 -- Ernest R. Baltzell
  • 1920 -- Ernest K. Lindley
  • 1925 -- Philip Rice
  • 1928 -- Harlan Logan
  • 1953 -- Joseph B. Board
  • 1964 -- Stephen K. Smith
  • 1970 -- William H. Wolfe
  • 1983 -- Barbara J. Toman
  • 1985 -- Joel Thomas-Adams
  • 1994 -- Zachary J. Ziliak
  • 2001 -- Raju Raval
  • 2003 -- Kathleen Tran
  • 2010 -- Mutsa Mutembwa
  • 2011 -- Esther Uduehi
2017 -- Morgan Mohr

Source: Indiana University Bloomington Newsroom

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File