News Sections
Tuesday Is Election Day
Updated May 2, 2016 8:15 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(UNDATED) - Election Day is Tuesday.

Voters and poll workers are gearing up for the Primary Election.

The polls open at 6 a.m. and will close promptly at 6 p.m.

To help voters prepare, here are some reminders of what you need to know before you go to the polls.

  • You cannot bring election materials inside a polling location.
  • You cannot wear items into a polling location supporting or opposing a candidate or issue.
  • You cannot comment on another voter's support of a candidate or issue inside of a polling location.
  • You are required to bring a photo ID.

This is a Primary Election so voters will have to choose a Democrat or Republican ballot. Indiana has an open primary; voters are not bound to choose one ballot or the other.

"I also encourage all voters to research the candidates on their ballot before going to the polls," Secretary Lawson said. "You can find out who is on your ballot at or on the Indiana Voters app. An informed electorate is the key to democracy."

In addition, any voters who have requested an absentee by mail ballot must return those ballots to their county clerk by noon on Tuesday, May 3rd.

Voters need to double check where they need to cast their votes because many Lawrence County Polling places have changed.

The new locations are:

  • Shawswick 1A and 1B - Stonegate Arts & Education Center
  • Shawswick 2 and 3 - Courthouse lobby
  • Shawswick 4 - Bedford Baptist Temple will move to Lincoln Elementary School
  • Shawswick 5A - Wilson Park Shelter House
  • Shawswick 5B - First Assembly of God Church
  • Shawswick 6 - First Baptist Church
  • Shawswick 7A and 7B - Church of God
  • Shawswick 8 - Central Church of Christ will move to Bedford Middle School
  • Shawswick 9 and 10 - Free Methodist Church will move to Stalker Elementary School
  • Shawswick 11 - Otis Park Red Brick
  • Shawswick 12 - Oolitic Town Hall will move to Dollens Elementary School
  • Shawswick 13 - Dive Christian Church will move to Community Baptist Fellowship
  • Shawswick 14A - Community Baptist Fellowship
  • Shawswick 14B - Leatherwood Christian Church
  • Shawswick 15A - Grissom Municipal Airport will move to Lincoln Elementary School
  • Shawswick 15B - Grissom Municipal Airport
  • Shawswick 16 - Grace Full Gospel Church will move to the First Assembly of God Church
  • Marion 1 and 4 - First Baptist Christian Life Center on West Frank Street
  • Marion 2 and 3 - Mitchell Community Center
  • Marion 5A - Lawrence County 4-H Fairgrounds
  • Marion 5B - Marion Township Volunteer Fire Department will move to Carpenter Banquet Hall on Main Street
  • Marion 5C - Pace Union Hall will move to Carpenter Banquet Hall
  • Marion 6 - Mitchell Presbyterian Church will move to Emerson Gymnasium
  • Bono - Camp Rivervale will move to the Mitchell Presbyterian Church
  • Guthrie - Tunnelton United Methodist Church will move to Hidden Falls Church Camp
  • Indian Creek North and South - Fayetteville Baptist Church will move to Fayetteville Elementary School
  • Marshall 1, 2, and 3 - Valley Mission Church and Mount Pleasant Christian Church will move to Needmore Elementary School
  • Perry - Life Tabernacle will move to Springville Elementary School
  • Pleasant Run - Pleasant Run Park will move to Heltonville Elementary School
  • Spice Valley North - Williams Community Center will move to Fayetteville Elementary School
  • Spice Valley South - Huron Fire Barn will move Lawrence County 4-H Fairgrounds

If citizens have issues on or leading up to Election Day, they are encouraged to contact the Secretary of State's office. Hoosier voters can file complaints with the Secretary of State's office regarding polling place accessibility or concerns regarding possible fraudulent actives. To file a complaint or report an issue, voters may call 1-866-IN1-VOTE (1-866-461-8683). Secretary of State staff are on hand during business hours, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday- Friday as well as 6:00 a.m. to 7 p.m. Eastern Time on Election Day.

Hoosiers may also complete the Indiana Voter Fraud and Accessibility Grievance affidavit form, which is located on the Secretary of State website at Those who submit this form are advised to have it notarized in order to assist investigators and prosecutors, before filing it with the Secretary of State's office.

The Secretary of State's office will also be implementing an Election Day Response Team. Several Special Secretary of State Deputies will be appointed for the purpose of responding to any election related issues, spot-checking polling locations for accessibility and integrity in the process. If you believe there is an issue and want to notify the special deputies serving on the response team, please contact 1-866-IN1-VOTE (1-866-461-8683).

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File