News Sections
Bloomfield Coach Matt Britton To Coach IndyStar All-Star Basketball Team
Updated April 4, 2016 7:08 AM | Filed under: Sports
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BLOOMIFIELD) - After guiding the Bloomfield Cardinals to the IHSAA Class A State Finals, Coach Matt Britton will now have the opportunity to coach the best players in the Class of 2017.

Bloomfield's Matt Britton will coach the IndyStar Junior All-Star basketball team in its two exhibition games against the Indiana All-Stars in June.

"That's going to be an exciting experience getting to coach the Junior All-Stars," Britton told the Greene County Daily World. "It's a really talented class. There are four nationally-rated recruits in that class."

The Junior All-Stars will play the Indiana All-Stars on June 7 and 9 at sites still to be determined

Britton coached Bloomfield to a Class A state finals appearance this season. He is 156-95 in 10 seasons as a coach at four schools, including 74-47 in five years at Bloomfield.

Britton will be assisted by Merrillville's T.J. Lux and Northwestern's Jim Gish.

The Junior All-Star team is determined by the 22-member Indiana Basketball Coaches Association all-state panel. The selection process allows all IBCA-member head coaches the opportunity to recommend top players from 16 regional areas under a non-class format.

All-Star Game Director Charlie Hall surveys numerous coaches to solicit recommendations for potential All-Star coaching candidates.

As one of six Indiana high school coaches chosen by the IBCA as a candidate for the association's Bob King Coach of the Year award, Britton will be one of the coaches at Hoosier Basketball Magazine's Top 60 Workout at Marian University April 10. He will accompany Cardinal senior Brandon Van Sant who was invited to participate in the workout.



Jaren Jackson (F), Park Tudor; Jack Nunge (F), Castle; Paul Scruggs (G), Southport; Sasha Stefanovic (G), Crown Point; Kris Wilkes (F), Indianapolis North Central; Malik Williams (F), Fort Wayne Snider.


Jalen Adaway (G), Logansport; Jaylen Butz (F), Fort Wayne North; Jermaine Couisnard (G), East Chicago Central; Parker Hazen (F), Columbia City; Kyle Mangas (G), Warsaw; Tyler Smith (G), Northeastern.


Michael Ertel (G), Mt. Vernon (Fortville); Zach Gunn (F), Hamilton Southeastern; Isaac Hibbard (G), New Albany; Jaylen Minnett (G), Terre Haute South; Cooper Neese (G), Cloverdale; Justin Roberts (G), Indianapolis Pike.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File