News Sections
Bloomington Police Sgt. Brandon Lopossa Recognized As 2015 Officer Of the Year
Updated March 1, 2016 7:22 AM | Filed under: Crime
 Print    Archive    RSS
sgt. lapossa.jpg

(BLOOMINGTON) - Sgt. Brandon Lopossa of the Bloomington Police Department was recognized for six honors at the 2016 Bloomington Police Department Awards Ceremony, one of which was the 2015 Officer of the Year Award.

The Bloomington Police Department Awards Ceremony solicits nominations from officers and submits them to a panel of judges both on the force and off.

Bloomington Police Capt. Steve Kellams recognized Sgt. Lopossa for his dedication, professionalism and community outreach.

Sgt. Lopossa has served the department for more than 17 years.

Sgt. Lopossa was recognized with officers Josh Burnworth and Will Keaton as the recipient of the Merit Certificate for their efforts on the evening of October 23 when officers were called to the 1100 block of West 17th Street at to find a man and a woman who reported being assaulted and chased.

When police arrived at the suspect's apartment he could be seen inside the building, striking things with a sword. Officers then smelled the odor of smoke and alerted the Bloomington Fire Department to help break down the door which the suspect had barricaded.

Officers, with the assistance of a canine unit, were able to talk the suspect into dropping his weapon and surrendering.

An incident on August 12 earned Sgt. Lopossa with the Suicide Prevention Coalition Award as well as the Bravery and Life Saving Award. Lopossa arrived at the parking garage at Seventh and Morton streets to find a crying woman sitting on the edge of the eighth floor of the garage. For 30 minutes, Lopossa talked to the woman until officer Lucas Tate arrived to help with the negotiation. The officers' quick actions resulted in the woman's rescue.

Lopossa was also honored a Community Service Award for his involvement with the Teen Police Academy and received recognition for his part in the investigation of Justin Wykoff, who was arrested after embezzling more than $440,000 from Bloomington city coffers.

Others recognized were:

  • Merit Certificates: Morgan Berns, Amy Romoser, Josh Burnworth, Will Keaton, Brandon Lopossa, John Holmes, Joe Henry, Jeff Rodgers
  • Citizen Commendations: Daniel Boyes, James Doyle, Nicholas Johnson, Virgina Maletic, Sheanin McConnaughy, Jeff Mease
  • Life Saving Award: Elliot Jordan, Jame Batcho, Kevin Frank, Josh Burnworth
  • Community Service Award: Brandon Lopossa, George Connolly, Zach Weisheit, Trevor Sager, Ryan Mclain, Kiley Jarrett, Amy Romoser, Brandon Siniard, Chris Scott, Betsy Walsh
  • Bravery and Life Saving Award: Lucas Tate, Brandon Lopossa
  • Suicide Prevention Coalition Award: Lucas Tate, Brandon Lopossa
  • Officer/Detective of the First Quarter: 1st shift- Rick Crussen, 2nd shift- Dustin Kruse, 3rd shift- John Morphew, Det.- Kevin Hill
  • Officer/Detective of the Second Quarter: 1st shift- Brian James, 2nd shift- Josh Burnworth, 3rd shift- Andy Fosnaugh, Det.- Jeff Rodgers
  • Officer/Detective of the Third Quarter: 1st shift- Trae Luck, 2nd shift- Kevin Frank, 3rd shift- Kyle Thomas, Det.- John Holmes
  • Officer/Detective of the Fourth Quarter: 1st shift- Matt Gilmore, 2nd shift- Robert Skelton, 3rd shift- Zach Weisheit, Det.- Josh Taylor
  • Officer of the Year: Brandon Lopossa

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File