News Sections
Greene And Monroe County Judges Honored By Chief Justice
Updated November 4, 2015 8:32 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BLOOMFIELD) - Greene County Superior Court Judge Dena Martin and Monroe County Judge Elizabeth Ann Cure were two of many judges and magistrates recognized by Indiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Loretta Rush for their commitment to higher education and their long-time service.

Chief Justice Rush, as Chair of the Judicial Conference, recognized 25 judicial officers who received an Indiana Judicial College certificate and eight judicial officers for 24 years of service on the bench. Both honors were presented at an annual judicial conference.

Indiana Judicial College

A judicial officer must complete 120 hours of education presented by the Indiana Judicial Center to receive this certificate. The programs offered are designed for judicial officers to enhance their legal knowledge and improve their personal and professional development. Those recognized included:

  • Magistrate Amy J. Barbar (Marion)
  • Judge Lisa F. Borges (Marion)
  • Judge Charles "Denny" Bridges (Putnam)
  • Magistrate Dean O. Burton (Elkhart)
  • Judge Beth Ann Butsch (Fayette)
  • Judge Julie N. Cantrell (Lake)
  • Judge Sheila A. Carlisle (Marion)
  • Magistrate Burnett Caudill (Marion)
  • Judge David L. Chidester (Porter)
  • Judge Elizabeth Ann Cure (Monroe)
  • Judge Richard G. D'Amour (Vanderburgh)
  • Judge Kimberly S. Dowling (Delaware)
  • Judge John T. Evans (Harrison)
  • Judge John M. Feick (Delaware)
  • Magistrate Renee Allen Ferguson (Vanderburgh)
  • Judge Kurtis G. Fouts (Carroll)
  • Judge Christopher M. Goff (Wabash)
  • Judge Lance D. Hamner (Johnson)
  • Judge Max C. Ludy, Jr. (Jay)
  • Judge Dena A. Martin (Greene)
  • Judge Lori Thatcher Quillen (Owen)
  • Judge Samuel A. Swaim (Parke)
  • Judge Charles K. Todd (Wayne)
  • Judge Nancy Harris Vaidik (Indiana Court of Appeals)
  • Judge Joseph P. Weber (Clark)

24 Years of Service

This award is presented to judicial officers with 24 years of service on the bench. Judges are typically elected to a six year term; therefore, a judge receiving this certificate has likely been elected four times. Award were presented to:

  • Judge David A. Ault (Senior Judge)
  • Judge L. Mark Bailey (Indiana Court of Appeals)
  • Judge Thomas L. Clem (Madison)
  • Judge Jane Spencer Craney (Morgan)
  • Judge Stephen R. Heimann (Bartholomew)
  • Judge Michael J. Kramer (Noble)
  • Judge K. Mark Loyd (Johnson)
  • Justice Robert D. Rucker (Indiana Supreme Court)

The Indiana Judicial Center serves as the state's judicial research and continuing judicial education agency. It develops and sponsors education programming for judges, probation officers and other court personnel. The Center works to enhance the performance of the judicial system as a whole by continuously improving the professional competence of judicial officers.

For more information on the Judicial Center, visit

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File