News Sections
14 To Compete For Lawrence County Distinguished Young Woman Saturday
Updated November 13, 2015 8:04 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BEDFORD) - Fourteen high school seniors will take the stage at Schafer Auditorium Saturday to compete for the 2015-16 Lawrence County Distinguished Young Women scholarship program.

The program will begin at 6 p.m., doors open at 5:30 p.m. Tickets cost $5.

Competing from Bedford North Lawrence High School are:

  • Alisha Adams
  • Baili Peterson
  • Catlin Mefford
  • Chloe O'Conner
  • Jade Julian
  • Kaitlyn Martin
  • Makayla Baker
  • Morgan Lambrecht
  • Olivia Sanders

From Mitchell High School:

  • Anna Kluender
  • Audrey Schlegel
  • Madison McNeely
  • Mattie England
  • Olivia Riley

The young women will be judged on scholastic achievement (25 percent), judges' interview (25 percent), creative and performing arts (20 percent), fitness (15 percent) and self-expression (15 percent).

The winner will receive a $2,300 scholarship and advance to the Indiana Distinguished Young Women program in February.

A $1,100 scholarships will presented to first runner-up, second runner-up will received $500. The winner of the Spirit Award will received a $250 scholarship and the six category award winners will receive $200 scholarships.

The sponsors of this year's scholarships include Hoosier Hills Credit Union, Bedford Lions Club, Tri Kappa of Mitchell and Tri Kappa of Bedford.

The county's 2015 Distinguished Young Woman, Fiona Schlegel, will present the medallion to this year's winner.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File