News Sections
Winners Of The 5th Annual Hillbilly Race
Updated August 8, 2015 6:29 PM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(MITCHELL) - The sky was clear as racers readied their jalopies for the 5th Annual Mitchell 500 Hillbilly Race Race.

21 drivers competed in the down-hill gravity race Saturday on Teke Burton Drive in Mitchell.

The cost to enter or watch the races was a non-perishable item that was donated to Bertha's Mission. Those that attended filled a truck load.

The winners are:

  • 5-8 age group: Bryson Zeeks
  • 9-13 age group: John McClain
  • 14-17 age group: Damara Fox (the first female to ever win first place during the Hillbilly 500)
  • 18 and older: Ronnie Harrell

Other trophies include:

  • Z102 WPHZ-FM Station's Choice - Josie Bailey
  • Bested Dressed Hillbilly - Jackson Fields
  • Most Outrageous Jalopy - Anne Mills,
  • Best Team Spirit - Elliott McCorkle
  • Best Hillbilly Jalopy - Bryson Zeeks
  • Mayor's Choice - James Brown

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File