News Sections
Farmers In 88 Counties Eligible For Disaster Aid
Updated August 13, 2015 5:36 AM | Filed under: Agriculture
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - The U.S. Department of Agriculture says farmers in 88 of Indiana's 92 counties are eligible for low-interest emergency loans because of heavy rains and flooding that have occurred since May 1.

Those counties include Brown, Greene, Jackson, Monroe and Washington.

The agency declared 53 counties as primary disaster areas Wednesday because of damages and losses that farmers have incurred, and farmers in 35 other Indiana counties contiguous to the 53 also are eligible for the loans. Farmers in counties in Illinois, Kentucky, Ohio and Michigan that are contiguous to the disaster areas also are eligible.

The USDA says farmers in eligible counties have eight months to apply for loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency to help cover part of their actual losses.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File