News Sections
Audio
New Malware Tricks Unsuspecting Facebook Users
Updated August 8, 2015 6:10 PM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(UNDATED) - Malicious tagging is a way of tricking unsuspecting Facebook users into downloading malware in an attempt to steal personal information from your Facebook account.

The Better Business Bureau says this is how it works: You may receive a notification that a friend has tagged you in a post. It may appear to be a video that some of your other friends are also tagged in. When you click on the video it will instruct you that you must first download a Flash player before you can view the video. If the player is downloaded, the malware can basically take over your Facebook account, post another fake video and automatically tag your friends.

BBB offers the following tips to protect yourself:

  • Stay away from promotions that say exclusive, shocking or sensational footage.
  • Be cautious of shortened links: link shortening may be used to disguise malicious links.
  • Don't trust FB friend's online habits: they may have not actually "liked" anything and may also be a victim of a hacked account.
  • If your account has been hacked, contact Facebook. The Facebook Help Center page offers remedies to several potential problems.

For more information visit https://www.facebook.com/help/205730929485170



« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to comments@wbiw.com

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW


1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.   WBIW.com and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback