News Sections
Lawrence County To Receive Grant Money To Benefit Family Court Projects
Updated April 15, 2015 6:33 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(UNDATED) - Lawrence County is one of several counties to receive state grant money to benefit local family court projects.

The Indiana Supreme Court recently awarded more than $243,000 in grants to 19 counties in support of local family court projects.

The Supreme Court has distributed nearly $3.5 million since the Family Court Project began in 1999. The grants are considered "seed money," and pilot counties are expected to transition to local funding within a reasonable time.

The grants are designed to create innovative programs that improve the court process for families. Priority was given to applications that emphasized four areas: improving access to the courts for families without attorneys, alternative dispute resolution, court-related services, and promoting academic research into court practices and services.

The grants, ranging between $35,000 to $4,000, were awarded to the following counties around the state:

  • Judge Charles Pratt, Allen County - $35,000
  • Judge Cynthia Ayers, Marion County - $30,000
  • Judge Cynthia Ayers, Marion County IV-D Court - $30,000
  • Judge Judith Stewart, Brown County - $20,000 (shared with Jackson/Lawrence Co.)
  • Judge Bruce MacTavish, Jackson County - $20,000 (shared with Brown/Lawrence Co.)
  • Judge Andrea McCord, Lawrence County - $20,000 (shared with Brown/Jackson Co.)
  • Judge Elizabeth Tavitas, Lake County - $20,000
  • Judge Thomas Stefaniak, Jr., Lake County - $20,000
  • Judge Thomas Alevizos, LaPorte County - $15,000
  • Judge Mary Margaret Lloyd, Daviess/Floyd/Pike/Vanderburgh/Vigo/Warrick County - $12,000
  • Judge Thomas Busch, Tippecanoe County - $10,000
  • Judge David Bonfiglio, Elkhart County - $10,000
  • Judge Frances Hill, Monroe County - $10,000
  • Judge Dena Martin, Greene County - $6,184
  • Judge Michael Robbins, Lawrence County - $6,002
  • Judge Douglas Fahl, Whitley County - $5,000
  • Judge Alison Frazier, Jefferson County - $5,000
  • Judge Lori Thatcher Quillen, Owen County - $4,725
  • Judge Gary Smith, Jennings County - $4,000

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File