News Sections
Rep. Todd Young Accepting Entries For 2015 Congressional Art Competition
Updated February 24, 2015 6:55 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(UNDATED) - Rep. Todd Young is pleased to announce that the 2015 Congressional Art Competition (CAC) has begun.

This nationwide annual art competition encourages high school students from all 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories to showcase their artistic ability.

Any legal resident of the 9th Congressional District of Indiana may submit artwork to the 9th District offices in Jeffersonville, Bloomington or Greenwood.

The CAC was established in 1982 so that members of Congress could recognize and encourage the artistic talents of their young constituents, and all 2015 entries will be hung and on display to the public at the Jeffersonville Constituent Service Center for three weeks, as well as showcased on the website throughout the year.

One entry will be chosen to represent the 9th Congressional District of Indiana, and will hang in the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C., for one year as part of an exhibition showcasing outstanding artwork from across the country. In addition, the first-place entrant will receive a pair of roundtrip airline tickets to Washington, D.C. for a gala reception in June honoring all winners.

Entries will be scored by a panel of professional artists from the 9th District (75% of total score) and through votes on Young's Facebook page (25% of total score).

More information about the 2015 Congressional Art Competition, including eligibility information, contest rules and entry forms can be found on Rep. Young's website at, or by contacting the 9th District's Constituent Service Center in Jefferonsville at (812) 288-3999.

WHO: High school students in Indiana's 9th Congressional District

WHAT: 2015 Congressional Art Competition

WHEN: Deadline for submitting entries is Friday, April 17, 2015. The winning entry will be announced in early May.

WHERE: Entries can be submitted to the 9th District Constituent Service Centers at 279 Quartermaster Court in Jeffersonville; 320 W 8th Street, Suite 114, in Bloomington (on Mon., Wed. or Fri.); or 300 S Madison Ave in Greenwood (Tues.)

Indiana's 9th District includes all or parts of Brown, Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Harrison, Jackson, Johnson Lawrence, Monroe, Morgan, Orange, Scott, and Washington Counties in south central Indiana.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File