News Sections
Mitchell Mayor Files For Re-Election
Updated January 26, 2015 10:35 AM | Filed under: Politics
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BEDFORD) - Mitchell Mayor Gary Pruett, a Democrat, has filed for re-election in Mitchell.

Also running on the Democratic ticket on the May 5 primary election is Ernest D. Speer and Eugene "Pud" Terrell.

On the Republican ticket is former mayor Dan Terrell, who lost to Pruett in 2007 and Mitchell city council member Vicky Schlegel.

In Bedford, Independent candidate Mayor Shawna Girgis officially filed for re-election on Wednesday.

Because Mayor Girgis is not a member of a political party, her name will not appear on the primary ballot but will be on the November 3 general election ballot.

For Girgis' name to be on the November ballot she had to submit the names of at least 52 registered voters. She submitted nearly 500 names. Lawrence County Clerk Myron Rainey has certified 416 petition signatures for Mayor Shawna Girgis' re-election campaign.

Major political party candidates seeking election to offices in Bedford, Mitchell and Oolitic have until noon Feb. 6 to file.


  • Mayor: Shawna Girgis, independent.
  • Clerk-treasurer: Julie Blackwell Chase, Republican, incumbent.
  • City council, District 1: Patrick Wayne Robbins, Democrat, incumbent.
  • City council, District 2: Michele A. Murphy, Republican, incumbent.
  • City council, District 3: Byron Buker, Republican, incumbent.
  • City council, District 4: Judy Carlisle, Republican, incumbent.
  • City council, at-large (two seats): Adele Bowden-Purlee, Republican, incumbent; Mark E. Scherschel Sr., Republican, incumbent; Howard H. Scott, Republican.


  • Mayor: Vicky Schlegel, Republican; Ernest D. Speer, Democrat; Dan Terrell, Republican; Eugene "Pud" Terrell, Democrat; Gary Pruett, incumbent, Democrat.
  • Clerk-treasurer: Mark Bryant, Republican; Steve Burton, Republican.
  • City council, District 1: Nancy Miller, Republican, incumbent.
  • City council, District 2: George James III, Republican.
  • City council, District 3: Joey D. Slone, Democrat, incumbent; Perry Reynolds, Republican.
  • City council, District 4: Everett Ferrell, Democrat, incumbent.
  • City council, at-large (one seat): William "Bill" Arnold, Democrat.


  • Clerk-treasurer: Jessica Staggs, Republican, incumbent.
  • Town council, Ward 2 Bill Kendall, Republican.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File