News Sections
Eastern Greene And Bloomington South High Schools To Participate In Poetry Out Loud State Finals
Updated January 15, 2015 4:25 PM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(UNDATED) - The Indiana Arts Commission announced that 27 Indiana schools, including Eastern Greene High School and Bloomington High School South will send participants to the annual Poetry Out Loud Indiana State Finals, February 21, at the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library, Central Branch, 40 E. St. Clair Street, Indianapolis.

The event begins at 10:30 a.m., and the public is invited.

This year is the 10th anniversary for both the state and national competitions.

Indiana high schools scheduled to participate include: Bloomington High School South, Bloomington; Broad Ripple Magnet High School, Indianapolis; Canterbury School, Fort Wayne; Carroll High School, Fort Wayne; Charles A. Tindley Accelerated Schools, Indianapolis; Christel House Academy School, Indianapolis; Columbus Christian School, Columbus; Columbus Signature Academy New Tech, Columbus; Eagle Tech Academy at Columbia City H.S., Columbia City; Eastbrook High School, Marion; Eastern Greene High School, Bloomfield; Edinburgh Community High School, Edinburgh; Forest Park Jr.--Sr. High School, Ferdinand; Griffith High School, Griffith; Herron High School, Indianapolis; Homestead High School, Fort Wayne; Irvington Preparatory Academy, Indianapolis; La Lumiere School, LaPorte; North Central High School, Indianapolis; Park Tudor School, Indianapolis; Pike High School, Indianapolis; Plymouth High School, Plymouth; Signature School, Evansville; South Adams High School, Berne; Todd Academy, Indianapolis; Twin Lakes High School, Monticello; Warsaw Community High School, Warsaw.

"This represents the largest number of schools scheduled to participate in the Indiana State Finals for Poetry Out Loud," said Sarah Fronczek, IAC's Poetry Out Loud project coordinator. "Participating schools represent a good mix of rural and urban districts from virtually every region of the state."

The state champion receives a $200 cash prize and an all-expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C. to compete in the Poetry Out Loud National Finals in early May. The state champion's school receives a $500 stipend to purchase poetry books.

The state competition is open to any Indiana school. Participating schools conduct initial competition to determine one student to represent the school at the state finals.

Last year Emma Libersky, Plymouth High School, Plymouth, Indiana was the 2013/2014 Indiana State Champion, and the first student to win consecutive state titles.

A total of $50,000 in scholarship awards and school stipends will be awarded at the Poetry Out Loud National Finals, with a $20,000 college scholarship awarded to the national champion.

Launched in 2006, the annual poetry recitation contest is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) and the Poetry Foundation. The program is designed to encourage youth to learn about great poetry through memorization and performance, and help students master public speaking, build self-esteem, and internalize an appreciation for American literary heritage.

The Indiana Arts Commission is dedicated to the vision of the arts everywhere, everyday, for everyone in Indiana.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File