News Sections
Damon Bailey, Jeff Doyle Named To Indiana Basketball Hall Of Fame's 2015 Silver Anniversary Team
Updated December 16, 2014 7:01 AM | Filed under: Sports
 Print    Archive    RSS
Jeff Doyle
Damon Bailey

(UNDATED) - Butler Assistant women's basketball coach and former Bedford North Lawrence star Damon Bailey and Barr Reeve Principal Jeff Doyle, who played for the Loogootee Lions, are two of 18 men to be named to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame's 2015 Silver Anniversary Team commemorating players from the high school class of 1990.

The men were chosen based on their outstanding accomplishments as a senior basketball player 25 years ago.

Other Southwest Indiana players named to the team were Princeton's Travis Trice, former Butler men's basketball player. He has been named Coach of the Year five times and has guided his teams to six sectional and two district championships.

Bailey was named 1990 Indiana Mr. Basketball during his senior season for Bedford North Lawrence High School when he averaged 31.2 PPG in route to leading the Stars to the state championship title. Bailey was named 1990 Gatorade National Player of the Year and Naismith National Player of the Year while being selected McDonald's All-American.

Over the course of his career at Bedford North Lawrence, Bailey was named first team all-state four times and was twice selected Gatorade Indiana Player of the Year. Bailey's 3,134 career points scored still stands as the most points scored all-time by any Indiana high school player in history.

Following his high school career, Bailey received a full-ride scholarship to play for Indiana University under coach Bob Knight where he was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, an All-American his senior year, won the most games in a four-year career, and ranks in the top ten all-time in both scoring and assists.

The Silver Anniversary Team members will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame's Annual Men's Banquet on, March 25, 2015.

Reservations are available online now or through mail order in early 2015. Call the Hall at 765-529-1891 or visit for more information or email


  • Damon Bailey, Bedford North Lawrence, Indiana University
  • Linc Darner, Anderson Highland, Purdue
  • Jeff Doyle, Loogootee , Southern Indiana
  • Elliot Hatcher, Cardinal Ritter, Kansas State
  • Noah Haynes, Frontier, Indiana St. / W. Florida
  • Mark Hisle, Terre Haute North, Evansville
  • Jamar Johnson, Concord, Nebraska
  • Marcus Johnson, Pike, Indiana State
  • Chris Lowery, Evansville Harrison, Southern Illinois
  • Eric Montross, Lawrence North, North Carolina
  • William Moore, Southport, Murray State
  • Juda Parks, East Chicago Central, Western New Mexico
  • Joe Ross, Northfield, Notre Dame
  • Jon Ross, Northfield, Notre Dame
  • Jeermal Sylvester, South Bend Riley, Ball State
  • Travis Trice, Princeton, Purdue / Butler
  • Matt Waddell, Tipton, Purdue
  • Ryan Yoder, Westview, Colorado State

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File