News Sections
14 Days Left Until 2014 General Election
Updated October 21, 2014 7:33 AM | Filed under: Politics
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BEDFORD) - There are only 14-days until the 2014 General Election.

Early voting is taking place now.

According to Lawrence County Clerk Myron Rainey, more than 200 people have cast early ballots.

Voters can stop by the voter registration office, located on the basement of the Lawrence County Courthouse from 8:30 a.m. to Noon and from 1 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Voters can also vote on Saturday, October 25 and Saturday, November 1 from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

The final day for early voting is November 3 from 8:30 a.m. till Noon.

Voters are asked to remember to bring a valid photo identification.

Contested races:

Sam Craig is finishing his second consecutive term, and, by state law, cannot run again. There are four candidates running for sheriff: Democrat Bill Allen, Republican Mike Branham, Libertarian Darin S. Kinser, and an independent candidate John C. Sherrill.

Democrat, Brandon Hedrick is challenging Republican Mark Mathis for the District 3 seat on the Lawrence County Council.

And three of the four North Lawrence school board seats are contested. Incumbent Kirsten Collier is facing Benjamin C. Kimmel for the District 1 seat. Bob Evans and Alan Norman are challenging incumbent Gary Holmes in District 2, and Brianna L. Miller and Beth Ritter are challenging incumbent Bradley R. Flinn for the District 3 seat.

Local Candidate List - 2014 General Election


Assessor April Stapp Collins (R)


Circuit Court Judge Andrea McCord (R)


Commissioner, Dist 1 Chris D. May (R)


County Council, Dist 1 Keith Dillman (R)

County Council, Dist 2 Michael E. Wright (R)

County Council, Dist 3 Mark Mathis (R)
County Council, Dist 3 Brandon Hedrick (D)

County Council, Dist 4 Jason Mullis (R)


Judge, Superior II William G. Sleva (R)


Prosecuting Attorney Michelle Woodward (R)


Sheriff Mike Branham (R)

Sheriff Darin S. Kinser (L)

Sheriff Bill Allen (D)

Sheriff John C. Sherrill (I)


Township Board, Bono Adam Norman (R)
Township Board, Bono Jon J. Malott (R)
Township Board, Bono Steve Emberton (D)
Township Board, Bono Tim Tolbert (D)
Township Board, Bono George T. Wilcox (D)

Township Board, Guthrie David L. Lee (R)
Township Board, Guthrie Bev Clark (R)

Township Board, Indian Creek Bruce Reeves (R)
Township Board, Indian Creek Richard Kendall (R)
Township Board, Indian Creek Standley Wright (R)

Township Board, Marion Lawrence Lonnie Graves (R)
Township Board, Marion Jack Zeeks (R)
Township Board, Marion Charles R. Parks, (D)

Township Board, Marshall Ed Franklin (R)
Township Board, Marshall Larry Tincher (R)
Township Board, Marshall C. Sam Bond (R)

Township Board, Perry Dennis W. Godsey (R)
Township Board, Perry Doug Kelley (R)
Township Board, Perry Marilyn Gayle Kimmel (R)

Township Board, Pleasant Run James Locke(R)
Township Board, Pleasant Run Paul. E. Ford (R)
Township Board, Pleasant Run Gary Faubion (R)

Township Board, Shawswick Jennie M. Edwards (R)
Township Board, Shawswick Jack D. Cummings (R)
Township Board, Shawswick Amy Kleber (R)

Township Board, Spice Valley Timothy S. Terry (R)
Township Board, Spice Valley Philip M. Smith (R)
Township Board, Spice Valley W. Eugene Roberts (R)

Township Trustee, Bono Michelle Porter (R)

Township Trustee, Guthrie Nickie R. (Nick) Hubbard (R)

Township Trustee, Indian Creek Alisha Godsey-Layton (R)

Township Trustee, Marion Ilene L. Hardman(R)

Township Trustee, Marshall Susan Evans (R)

Township Trustee, Perry Bob Phillips (R)

Township Trustee, Pleasant Run Michael S. Nicholson (R)

Township Trustee, Shawswick Millard Jones (R)

Township Trustee, Spice Valley Sarah Hillenburg (D)


Mitchell Community Schools

School Board Member, Dist 2 Cindy "Fleener" Brooking
School Board Member, Dist 2 Dee Hupp-Sanders

North Lawrence Community Schools

Three of the four board seats are contested.

School Board Member, Dist 1 incumbent Kirsten Collier
School Board Member, Dist 1 Benjamin C. Kimmel

School Board Member, Dist 2 Bob Evans
School Board Member, Dist 2 incumbent Gary Holmes
School Board Member, Dist 2 Alan Norman

School Board Member, Dist 3 incumbent Bradley R. Flinn
School Board Member, Dist 3 Brianna L. Miller
School Board Member, Dist 3 Beth Ritter

School Board Member, Dist 5 Donnie Branham

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File