News Sections
Bloomington Hospital Foundation Investing In The Future Of Healthcare
Updated June 4, 2014 6:36 AM | Filed under: Education
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BLOOMINGTON) - The Bloomington Hospital Foundation recently announced the recipients of its 10 scholarship winners.

To be eligible for one of the 10 $2,500 scholarships, students need to be a permanent resident of south central Indiana (Brown, Daviess, Greene, Jackson, Lawrence, Martin, Monroe, Morgan, Orange, Owen, Washington counties) and enrolled in a degree program for the following healthcare careers: Allied Health (Occupational Therapist, Physical Therapist, Speech Therapist, Dietitian, Medical Laboratory Scientist, Medical Laboratory Technician, Physician, Radiation Therapist, Radiological Technician, Respiratory Therapist, Pharmacist) and Nursing (Registered Nurse: Staff Nurse or any specialty).

"The scholarship program is a rewarding way for the Foundation to support our local hospital by assisting current and future employees in advancing their education and thereby advancing healthcare in our community," says Alisa Hendrix, Bloomington Hospital Foundation board member and Scholarship Committee Co-Chair.

"We received top notch applicants this year and it is rewarding to support these worthy local students in their quest for higher education in healthcare," adds Sonna Merk, Scholarship Committee Co-Chair and also a Bloomington Hospital Foundation board member.

The Foundation received many outstanding applications from highly qualified students this year throughout south central Indiana, making the selection committee's work challenging.

"With the merit-based scholarship program, we reward students who are committed to this region and to the future of healthcare in south central Indiana," says Bloomington Hospital Foundation President Jon Barada. "The students are chosen because of their proven academic achievement and are truly the best of the best in their area of study."

The 2014 scholarship recipients are:

  • Miranda Arthur (Monroe County): Doctorate of Pharmacy from Butler University

  • Audrey Ernst (Monroe County): Doctorate of Physical Therapy from University of Indianapolis

  • Benjamin Hendricks (Brown County): Doctorate of Medicine from Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

  • Mindy Long (Monroe County): Master of Nursing from University of Indianapolis

  • Bryce McKee (Monroe County): Doctorate in Medicine from Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

  • Liang Miller (Monroe County): Associate of Nursing from Ivy Tech Community College

  • Ruana Morrison (Monroe County): Master of Nursing from the University of Southern Indiana

  • Keith Potter (Monroe County): Associate of Radiation Therapy from Ivy Tech Community College

  • Dawn Stidham (Brown County): Master of Nursing from Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

  • Teri Wade (Lawrence County): Bachelor of Nursing from Western Governor's University

To learn more about the Bloomington Hospital Foundation, please visit

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File