News Sections
Early Voting Hours Extended As Voting Increases
Updated April 18, 2014 7:28 AM | Filed under: Politics
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BEDFORD) - Lawrence County Clerk Myron Rainey reported Thursday that early voting in the 2014 primary has increased and because of that they are extending early voting hours.

Citizens can vote weekdays through May 2 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and on Saturday April 28 and May 3 from 8:30 a.m. till 3:30 p.m. and on from 8:30 a.m. till Noon.

Rainey said the deadline to request an absentee ballot is midnight April 28.

Voters need to leave any unnecessary items in their vehicles. No pocket knives, weapons or controlled substances will be allowed in the courthouse. Everyone must enter on the South side and go through security before going to the Voter Registration Office on the lower level of the courthouse to vote.

The most hotly contested local race is for sheriff. Sam Craig is finishing his second consecutive term and, by state law, cannot run again. Vying to replace him are Republicans Mike Branham, Neil Hayes and Sam Shaw, and Democrats Bill Allen, Darin S. Kinser and Roland Stockton.

Republicans Rodney Fish, Chris May and David "Bud" Nicholson are running for commissioner of District 1, and two county council seats also are up for grabs. Republicans Keith Dillman is pitted against Scott Smith in District 1, while Raymond Briggs is challenging Mike Wright in District 2.

Republicans Jeannie Harris and Nickie R. Hubbard are candidates for trustee in Guthrie Township.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File