News Sections
18-Year-Old Aubrey Foddrill Votes For First Time
Updated April 10, 2014 7:28 AM | Filed under: Politics
 Print    Archive    RSS
foddrill 1.jpg

(MITCHELL) - Mitchell High School Senior Aubrey Foddrill cast her ballot for the May 6th Primary Election Wednesday morning. This was 18-year-old Foddrill's first time to vote.

"It was pretty interesting," Foddrill says. "It is a pretty important thing to do... the American way."

Foddrill knows how important voting is because she is an intern at the Lawrence County Veterans Office.

"They fought for our right to vote," she added. "It is important to know who will become the leaders of our community. I did my homework and have met several of the candidates here at the courthouse. My mind was made up when I casted my votes on who I was going to pick."

Foddrill was so impressed by the voting processes she has volunteered to work the polls in Mitchell.

Early voting for the May 6th Primary Election began Tuesday in the voter Registration Office in the lower level of the Lawrence County courthouse.

Lawrence County Clerk Myron Rainey says the election could stir a strong voter turnout because of the contested Sheriff's race.

Six people have entered the race: Republicans Mike Branham, Neil Hayes and Sam Shaw, and Democrats Bill Allen, Darin S. Kinser and Roland Stockton. Current Sheriff Sam Craig has served two consecutive terms and, by state law, cannot run again.

Republicans also have contested races for the Lawrence County Council in Districts 1 and 2, and for the Lawrence County Commissioner seat in District 1.

Several people also have filed for the 9th Congressional District seat currently held by Republican Todd Young. On the Republican ballot are Mark Jones and Kathy Lowe Heil, and on the Democratic ballot are Bill Bailey, James McClure Jr., J.S. Miller and William Joseph Thomas.

People can cast ballots in the voter registration office on the following schedule:

Weekdays: April 10, 11, 16, 17, 23, 24 and 25, and May 1, 2, from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and May 5, from 8:30 a.m. to noon. Saturdays: April 26 and May 3, from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

During the middle of the day on weekdays, the last voter in line at noon will vote before the office staff takes a lunch break. There will be a time posted on the door to let voters know when the staff expects to resume voting services.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File