WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Bedford Firefighters Honor Turner And Poster Winners

Last updated on Friday, October 11, 2013

(BEDFORD) - Bedford Fire Department honored retired Superintendent Dennis Turner and the fire prevention poster contest winners Wednesday during their annual fire prevention dinner.

Fifth-grader poster winners from St. Vincent de Paul: Issac Williams; Fayetteville Elementary: Ethan Harms; Needmore Elementary: Olivia Kinderthain and Kane Grubb; Dollens Elementary: Anna Roberts and Max Nolan; Springville Elementary: Destiny Leighty and Kylee Truelock; Lincoln Elementary: Hannah Riggle and Emily Duncan; Parkview Intermediate: Nicole Wilson, Dylan Davidson and Kyzer Sears; Stalker Elementary: Aliza Templeton and McKenzie Beasley; Heltonville Elementary: Bethany McVey; Shawswick Elementary: Ashlie Thomas, Emily Bingham and Raven Ridlen: Stone City Christian Academy: Rebecca Darnell; and Home School Association: Kacy Zoller.

This week is fire prevention week and the theme this year is "Prevent Kitchen Fires".

Bedford Fire Chief Jon Wagner says 1,500 cooking fires happened in Indiana last year. He noted kitchen fires are the leading injury-causing fires in the nation.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page