WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

15 Young Women Competing In 37th Annual Distinguished Young Woman Program Saturday

Last updated on Friday, October 25, 2013

(BEDFORD) - Fifteen high school senior girls from Bedford North Lawrence and Mitchell high schools will compete for scholarships Saturday night in the 37th Annual Distinguished Young Woman program.

The Lawrence County Distinguished Young Woman program, formerly Junior Miss, will take place at 6 p.m. in the BNL Performing Arts Center.

This year, thanks to local sponsorships, the committee will award $5,600 in scholarships.

Participants will be judged on fitness, creative and performing arts, self expression, interview and scholastics. The winner, finalists and category award winners will receive scholarship awards.

Tickets for the program are $5 each and are available at the door the night of the contest.

The winner will advance to the state program in February.

Competing from BNL are Carlee Tackett, Eiza Endris, Allison Kovacs, Madelyn Deckard, Whitney Wilson, Sarah Shirley, Erica Kirkman, Jane Kittaka, Sarah Werley, Whitley Brock, Taylor Inman, Tricia Simpson, Lisa Norman and Haley Maddox.

Competing from Mitchell High School are Minal Patel and Angela Moody.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page