WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Bedford Awarded 2013 Community Of The Year Award

Last updated on Wednesday, September 4, 2013

(BEDFORD) - The Indiana Chamber of Commerce awarded the City of Bedford with the 2013 Community of the Year award today.

The award was announced during a celebration at the Otis Park Band Shell.

The award is presented to a community in the state for significant contributions to the local business climate and overall image during the past year.

The honor will be presented at the Indiana Chamber's 24th Annual Awards Dinner, presented in partnership with Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield on November 12 at the J.W. Marriott in downtown Indianapolis.

Bedford Area Chamber of Commerce President Jamie Medlock says the award is a huge honor for Bedford but the city needs to continue to stay focused, move forward and continue making progress.

She added the award show how hard work pays off and teamwork improves the quality of living and business in a community.

Kevin Brinegar, state chamber president says, the city's community and business leaders have partnered together to secure and develop the city's future so that everyone prospers.

Bedford will now be listed with cities much larger that have won the award.

Community of the Year recipients:
2013: Bedford
2012: Indianapolis
2011: Kokomo
2010: Terre Haute
2009: Valparaiso
2008: Noblesville
2007: Anderson
2006: Evansville
2005: LaPorte
2004: Muncie
2003: Warsaw
2002: Marion
2001: Greater Lafayette
2000: Jeffersonville
1999: Fort Wayne
1998: Rochester
1997: Batesville
1996: Elkhart
1995: Indianapolis
1994: Kendallville
1993: St. Joseph County
1992: Columbus
1991: Muncie
1990: Bluffton

The Indiana Chamber of Commerce has been the state's largest broad-based business advocacy organization for 90 years. The more than 5,000 member companies employ 800,000 Hoosier workers.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page