News Sections
New Area Youth To Serve On IHSAA Student Advisory Committee
Updated August 13, 2013 6:45 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS
Olivia Gettelfinger.jpg

(UNDATED) - Eighteen high school student-athletes from across Indiana will begin the school year as members of the 2013-14 IHSAA Student Advisory Committee (SAC).

One is from Bloomington and the another from Bloomfield.

The SAC represents the entire IHSAA membership of 412 schools, and its structure reflects that of the IHSAA Board of Directors in terms of classification and districts as well as female, urban schools and minority representation.

Each year, the IHSAA receives nominations from school principals on behalf of student-athletes from IHSAA member schools. From that group of this year's nominations, 23 were selected for interviews by members of the IHSAA Executive Committee, Executive Staff and returning members of the SAC. From those 23 interviews, nine juniors were invited to join the group of nine seniors serving their second year.

Among the returning seniors are Hayley Betz of Evansville Harrison and Nathan Criss of South Putnam High School who were elected as president and vice-president, respectively, by their peers for the school year.
Individuals who will serve as part of this year's committee include:

2013-14 IHSAA Student Advisory Committee
Name / Grade / School

Hayley Betz (President) / 12 / Evansville Harrison High School
Joel Boser / 11 / Hamilton Heights High School
Amber Cowell / 12 / Culver Academy
Nathan Criss (Vice President) / 12 / South Putnam High School
Jude Diagostino / 11 / Tri West Hendricks High School
Olivia Gettelfinger / 11 / Bloomington High School North
William Kelly / 12 / Lakeland High School
Christian Kreiger / 11 / Fort Wayne Canterbury High School
Olivia Mc Millan / 11 / Connersville High School
Jordan Meurer / 11 / North Knox High School
Michael Montgomery / 11 / Tindley Accelerated High School
Gracie Norton / 11 / Mooresville High School
Turner Perkins / 12 / Danville High School
Lexi Place / 11 / Bloomfield High School
Sara Slabaugh / 12 / Bremen High School
Ellen Smith / 12 / Plymouth High School
Kirsten Spangenberg / 12 / Boone Grove High School
Casey Yager / 12 / Rushville High School

The IHSAA began sponsoring the Student Advisory Committee in 2001-02 to give the group of student-athletes hands-on experience and a voice to the IHSAA staff.

The SAC meets four times annually - twice each semester - and is responsible for hosting meetings with student peers at the upcoming Fall Area Principals Meetings; assisting with the awards ceremonies at IHSAA state championship events throughout the school year, planning and administering the annual IHSAA Student Leadership Conference in June and; to engage in and support the activities of Special Olympics Indiana, a partnership announced last December.

Other SAC functions include the development of an IHSAA Captain's Handbook which will be distributed to member schools this fall as well as assisting in the creation of multiple public service announcements addressing good sporting behavior which will be utilized during 2013-14 state championships events.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File