WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Former Senator Richard Lugar To Receive Presidential Medal Of Freedom

Last updated on Tuesday, August 13, 2013

(WASHINGTON D.C.) - Former Senator Richard Lugar will be among 16 people that President Barack Obama will honor later this year with the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

The White House announced Lugar's inclusion in a class of recipients that also includes former President Bill Clinton, entertainer and philanthropist Oprah Winfrey and former Chicago Cubs first baseman Ernie Banks.

Lugar represented Indiana in the Senate for 36 years.

The White House announcement calls him "an internationally respected statesman ... best known for his bipartisan leadership and decades-long commitment to reducing the threat of nuclear weapons."

It also notes he was a Rhodes Scholar and mayor of Indianapolis for eight years. He currently serves as president of the Washington-based Lugar Center.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page