WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

BNL Counseling Department Receives Gold Star Award

Last updated on Thursday, August 22, 2013

(BEDFORD) -The counseling department at Bedford North Lawrence High School has received the Indiana Gold Star School Counseling Award for 2013.

The school is one of 179 in the state to receive the distinction.

The official award presentation will be at the Indiana School Counselor Association fall conference in Indianapolis on Nov. 15.

Director Becky Sprinkle says BNL's success is because counselors put students first.

Joining Sprinkle as members of the counseling team are Mariane Buker, Chris Kurtz, Brooke Hostetler and Jenna Clark, all of whom participated in training sessions during the 2012-13 school year and learned how to implement the Gold Star School Counseling model.

The department also has two assistants; Tina Wilson and Janie Anderson.

Sprinkle also gave credit to Norm Taylor, who passed away last November in helping to gain the Gold Star Status.

According to a press release Gold Star schools undergo a rigorous process to raise student achievement by creating local community advisory groups that review student data, set specific student goals and commit to maximizing the time and skills of the school counselor.

Members of the advisory group are Ken Barnes, Sandy Bratton, Vonda Clay, Teresa Holler, Joel Housel, Jeff Lambrecht, Rowena Cross-Najafi, Sheila Decker, Amy Lauer, Lesley Kimmel, Dennis Martin, Deanna Priddy, Roger Dean, Dan Dyke, David Adams, Janie Anderson, Tammy Bailey, Tracy Bailey, Jamie Day, Alyssa Prince, Sara Richardson and Kristina Baker.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page