WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

17 Women Receive WWE Awards

Last updated on Saturday, May 4, 2013

(BEDFORD) - Seventeen women were honored at the ninth annual Walk With Excellence awards ceremony presented by the Lawrence County Community Foundation at the Expo Hall at the Lawrence County 4-H Fairgrounds Thursday night.

Awards were given in 12 categories also recognized were the Limestone Girls Club's Girl of the Year for 2012, Mackayla Reid, along with the 2013 Bedford North Lawrence High School state basketball championship team.

Michelle Woodward, Lawrence County prosecutor, presented Reid with her award.

Lawrence Circuit Court Judge Andrea McCord was the emcee for the event and gave opening and closing remarks.

The 2013 WWE Committee included: Jeni Embree, Becky Mason, Hope Flores, Julie Hewetson, McCord, Becky Sprinkle, Julia Johnson and Cassie Wheatley.

In addition, McCord thanked Sarah Wong, the 2012 Business award recipient and owner of Empress Court, who provided the food to go with the theme -- "Dynasty of Excellence."

A special Adult Sports/Fitness award was given to Carrie Holmes, a science teacher at BNL, who always has some team spirit, according to her nominator. Holmes has been an assistant athletic director, student council sponsor, Special Olympics volunteer and pep club sponsor.

Those honored were:

Arts/culture: Pam Bell

Business: Joely Alford

Community volunteers: Nicole Taflinger, Mary Swank

Daughter of Lawrence County: Treva Olson

Education: Mary Gabbard, Lee Purlee

Health care: Terri Briscoe

Innovator: Stephanie Fitzgerald

League of Their Own: Barbara Bayens, Ernestine Fleming

Pacesetter: Shirley Kielhorn

Religion: Rebecca Floyd

Sports/fitness: Carrie Holmes, Courtney Perkins

Women of Promise: Miley Nikirk of BNL, Addyson Hardman of Mitchell High School

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page