WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Area Basketball Players Receive Awards

Last updated on Thursday, March 21, 2013

(WASHINGTON) - Several area basketball players have received state awards this week.

Washington's Cullen Arnold was named first team Academic All-State by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association.

Named to the honorable mention boys team were Jacob Bledsoe and Brandon Wagler of Barr-Reeve and Waylon Matthews of Loogootee.

Cori Cummings of Barr-Reeve and Larynda Keith of North Daviess were named to the honorable mention girls team, joining Washington's Audra Lane, Kristen Lundy and Hannah Mason of Washington as announced earlier.

Fifty seven Indiana seniors, 30 boys and 27 girls, were chosen for the first team. An additional 132 boys and 111 girls were named honorable mention, To be selected for the team, players must have at least a 3.5 GPA on a 4.0 scale, rank in upper 25 percent of their class, and have a SAT score of 1,500 or an ACT score of 23.

Arnold was also joined by Nick Crays of North Daviess and Conner Wittmer of Loogootee as one of the top 100 senior players in the state as named by Hoosier Basketball.

Sixty of the those players will be named to participate in the magazine's 26th annual workout on April 7 at Marian University in Indianapolis.

The workout allows college coaches to see the players and enables game directors and coaches of the Indiana-Kentucky All-Star Game.

The April workout will be open to the public. The first session if scheduled from 1 until 3 p.m., with the second set for 3:30 to 5:30 p.m.

The final list of 60 will be announced in the future.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page