WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Mitchell's Chris Shaw 2012 Conservation Farmer Of The Year

Last updated on Wednesday, February 13, 2013

(MITCHELL) - Mitchell resident and school board president Chris Shaw was awarded the 2012 Conservation Farmer of the Year Award Monday night during the annual meeting of the Lawrence County Soil and Water Conservation District.

Shaw began working with the Natural Resource Conservation Service and the Lawrence County Soil and Water Conservation District in 1997.

Shaw has participated in the Environmental Quality Incentives Program and the Conservation Reserve Program.

He has also installed and maintains numerous conservation practices on his farm including: pipelines; spring development; water facilities; heavy use area protection pads; pasture and hay plantings; fencing; ponds; conservation tillage; filter strips; and grassed waterways.
Shaw received the award from District Supervisor Pete Isom at the meeting held at Spring Mill Inn.

Also recognized were 2012 Soil and Water Conservation Poster Contest winners, Jenna St. John, Emily Bartlett, Kyler Mason, and Miranda Hopper, were acknowledged as was 2012 4-H Soil and Water Conservation project grand champion, Coleen Gabhart.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page