WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Deadline Approaching For Outstanding Black Male Leaders Of Tomorrow Awards

Last updated on Thursday, February 7, 2013

(BLOOMINGTON) - The City of Bloomington Commission on the Status of Black Males is still accepting nominations for its annual Outstanding Black Male Leaders of Tomorrow awards. The deadline for nominations is Feb. 12.

The awards encourage the development of future leaders and recognize local contributions by young African-Americans. Awards are given in two age categories: high school-aged African-American boys and men and African-American men younger than 30 years old.

"The City established its Commission on the Status of Black Males in part to examine and propose solutions to some of the challenges faced by African-American men," Mayor Mark Kruzan said. "These awards provide a unique opportunity for our community to recognize young, emerging African-American leaders and affirm their contributions."

Nominations may be made online at http://bloomington.in.gov/csbm. Nominees must have resided in Monroe County for at least one year and must have been involved personally or professionally in making meaningful contributions to the Bloomington community.

Past recipients of the awards include Matt Herndon, Cordero L. Rhyne, Alvin Henry, Gerald L. Mitchell, Eddie R. Cole, Jr., Rashawn Ray, Adrian Land, Aaron Barnes and Myles Adams.

For more information contact Craig Brenner, special projects coordinator for the Department of Community and Family Resources, at 349.3471 or at brennerc@bloomington.in.gov.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page