WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Highway Crews Restocking After Snow Fall

Last updated on Wednesday, January 2, 2013

(BEDFORD) - Lawrence County Highway Superintendent David Holmes says crews are restocking sand piles in the wake several substantial snow storms.

Holmes says it will be an expensive process.

Commissioner Bill Spreen rode with one of snow plow drivers and was impressed with all the driver's efforts. The commissioners told Holmes to thank the crews for a job well done.

In other business:

The Commissioners bid outgoing Auditor Billie Tumey farewell and expressed gratitude for her dedication and hard work. Jody Edwards, who was elected auditor in November will be taking over the position. Tumey will remain in the department to assist her.

Commissioners approved a grant presented by Paula Hartwell of Administrative Resources Association for the construction of a new water tower. South Lawrence Water Utilities received the $500,000 state grant to tear down the current tower on East 60 and replace it with a new one. South Lawrence Superintendent Kevin Allen says the new tank will be built at a higher elevation and has more capacity increasing the pressure for people out in that area by about 20 pounds per square inch.

Sheriff Sam Craig reported the inmate count at the jail was 119, including 20 women and 11 Department of Correction prisoners. He reported his is waiting for the new scanners to arrive. The scanners will be placed at the courthouse and annex to increase security measures.

The Commissioners made the 2013 appointments. They are:

County Attorney - David Smith
Highway Superintendent - David Holmes
Project Coordinator - Bob Dillon
Highway Foreman for District 1 - Troy Fountain
Highway Foreman for District 2 - Jimmy Lane
Highway Foreman for District 3 - Don Fleetwood
Cum Bridge - Larry Hardman
Garage Supervisor - Robert Woods
Highway Bookkeeper - Brandi Webb
Weights and Measures - John Cobb
Emergency Management - Valerie Luchauer
Veterans Officer - John Cobb
Plaza Security - Lawrence County Chief Deputy Mike Branham
ABC Board - Janie Chenault
4-H Board - Commissioner Bill Spreen
SIDC - Commissioners Chris May, Dave Flinn, Bill Spreen
Community Child Protection Team - Bedford Police Major and Lawrence County Coroner Rob Herr
Lawrence County Economic Growth Council - Janie Chenault
Boys & Girls Club - Commissioner Chris May
Lawrence County Board of Health Officer - Dr. Alan Smith
Economic Growth Region 8 - Gene McCracken

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page