WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Chris Shaw Continues As President Of Mitchell School Board

Last updated on Wednesday, January 16, 2013

(MITCHELL) - Three new Mitchell School board members, Steve Burton, Crystal Mikels and Patrick Redman were sworn in and took office Monday night.

The Times-Mail reports that Chris Shaw will retain the title of president and Marnie LaFevor will serve as vice president.

Board members also filled several other posts as they reorganized for the coming year.

The board named Mikels as board secretary, Malinda Powell as corporation treasurer, Debbie Arthur as deputy corporation treasurer, Chris Brown as extracurricular treasurer, Dana Grimes as deputy extracurricular treasurer and Greg Pittman as corporation attorney.

In addition, the board named LaFevor and Superintendent Steve Phillips to the corporation's insurance committee.

Board members kept their salaries at $2,000 per year plus $25 per day for each meeting and $10 per day for each committee meeting. Mileage reimbursement was set at 50 cents for the board and school employees.

Redman declared a formal conflict of interest stating that his wife, Amy Redman is a teacher at Mitchell High School. That does not prevent Redman from acting as a board member, but the paperwork does make the situation a matter of record.

Board members accepted the resignation of: Byron Morris, assistant varsity boys track coach, effective Dec. 13.

The board named Bill Mullis to the Mitchell Public Library Board.

The board agreed to hire:

* Scott Petty as varsity soccer coach for the 2013-2014 school year.

* Rachelle Collins as co-varsity assistant track coach for the 2012-2013 school year

* Chelsea Oyervides as assistant softball coach for the 2012-2013 school year

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page