WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Bloomington Seeks Nominees For Martin Luther King, Jr. Legacy Award

Last updated on Sunday, November 25, 2012

(BLOOMINGTON) - The City of Bloomington’s Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Celebration Commission is soliciting nominees for the annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Legacy Award.

The award recognizes and affirms those who have made significant contributions in the areas of race relations, justice and human rights, and is presented annually at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Celebration in January.

Nominees must have been Monroe County residents, businesses or advocacy groups for at least one year, and must have been involved in making tangible and meaningful contributions to the improvement of community conditions and the advancement of race relations, racial justice or human rights causes.

Past winners of the Legacy Award include Bloomington United, the Monroe County Branch of the NAACP, Guy and Connie Loftman, the Rev. E. D. Butler, the Rev. Michael Anderson, the Monroe County Racial Justice Task Force, the Banneker History Project, Dr. James E. Mumford, Dr. Charlie Nelms, Kenneth W. Thomas, WFHB Community Radio, Elizabeth Mitchell, Daniel Soto Mayorga and John Whikehart.

Nominations may be made online at www.bloomington.in.gov/mlk. The deadline for nominations is Jan. 11, 2013. For more information contact Special Projects Coordinator Craig Brenner at brennerc@bloomington.in.gov or 349.3471.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page