WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Two IU Professors Awarded For Research In Chemistry

Last updated on Sunday, September 16, 2012

Erin Carlson and Sara Skrabalak, professors of chemistry, are two of 11 people awarded Cottrell Scholar awards this year.

"It's remarkable that, out of only 11 Cottrell Scholars in the nation this year, two are members of the chemistry faculty here at IU-Bloomington," said David Giedroc, chair of the Department of Chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences.

IDS reports, Carlson has also received a 2012 National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Award, which comes with a $500,000 grant. Skrabalak received this same honor in 2010.

"Professors Carlson and Skrabalak are conducting groundbreaking research
and combining it with exciting and innovative teaching," Giedroc said. "We are extraordinarily proud of them and know they will accomplish great things."

Other faculty members have won Cottrell awards in the past. They are Lane Baker, Mu-Hyun Baik and Nicola Pohl in the Department of Chemistry and Richard Van Kooten and Herbert Fertig in the Department of Physics.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page