News Sections
Two IU Professors Awarded For Research In Chemistry
Updated May 5, 2013 1:09 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

Erin Carlson and Sara Skrabalak, professors of chemistry, are two of 11 people awarded Cottrell Scholar awards this year.

"It's remarkable that, out of only 11 Cottrell Scholars in the nation this year, two are members of the chemistry faculty here at IU-Bloomington," said David Giedroc, chair of the Department of Chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences.

IDS reports, Carlson has also received a 2012 National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Award, which comes with a $500,000 grant. Skrabalak received this same honor in 2010.

"Professors Carlson and Skrabalak are conducting groundbreaking research
and combining it with exciting and innovative teaching," Giedroc said. "We are extraordinarily proud of them and know they will accomplish great things."

Other faculty members have won Cottrell awards in the past. They are Lane Baker, Mu-Hyun Baik and Nicola Pohl in the Department of Chemistry and Richard Van Kooten and Herbert Fertig in the Department of Physics.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File