WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Two File For North Lawrence Community School Board Trustee

Last updated on Saturday, August 4, 2012

(BEDFORD) - Two people have filed to serve on the North Lawrence Community Schools board of trustees.

incumbent J. Scott Gillespie, of Bedford and Dennis Whitaker, of Bedford.

No one has filed for the South Lawrence Community Schools Board of Trustees.

The Lawrence County Clerk's Office are accepting fillings and petitions for candidates seeking a spot on either the Mitchell or North Lawrence school board. This year, both corporations' school board elections will be held this fall.

According to the clerk's office, the seats up for grabs on the North Lawrence Community Schools board of trustees are those representing District 4, or the city of Bedford. Those seats are occupied by Scott Gillespie, Trisha O'Rourke and Jeff Lambrecht.

Those up for grabs on the Mitchell Community Schools' board are the three district seats, which are currently held by Debra Beeler, District 1 representing Spice Valley South; Michele Super, District 2 representing Marion Township; and Jamie Kirk, District 3 representing Bono Township.

To become a candidate, individuals must fill out the required filing paperwork at the clerk's office and provide the office with the signatures of 10 registered voters who live within the district in which they are running.

The following is an excerpt from the official form CAN-34 that potential candidates turn in with signatures:

"In a community school corporation, this petition must be signed by ten (10) registered voters residing within the boundaries of the school corporation. (IC 20-23-4-29)"

In other words, NLCS candidates must get signatures of voters residing within the North Lawrence Community School district and Mitchell Community School petition signatures must be from voters within the Mitchell school corporation boundaries.

The deadline to file for school board is noon on Aug. 24.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page