News Sections
Two More People File For School Board Positions
Updated May 5, 2013 1:08 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BEDFORD) - Two more people have added their names to the list of those running for school board positions in Lawrence County.

As of 3 p.m. Friday, three people have filed to serve on the North Lawrence Community Schools board of trustees. Only one person has filed to serve on the Mitchell school board.

The following is the list of those who have filed (An * before the name indicates an incumbent.):

North Lawrence

Tracy Bailey, Bedford

* J. Scott Gillespie, Bedford.

Dennis Whitaker, Bedford


Tyler Phillips, Mitchell.

According to the Lawrence County Clerk's office, the seats up for grabs on the North Lawrence Community Schools board of trustees are those representing District 4, or the city of Bedford.

Currently those seats are occupied by Gillespie, Trisha O'Rourke and Jeff Lambrecht.

Those up for grabs on the Mitchell Community Schools' board are the three district seats, which are currently held by Debra Beeler, District 1 representing Spice Valley South; Michele Super, District 2 representing Marion Township; and Jamie Kirk, District 3 representing BonoTownship.

The deadline to file is noon on Aug. 24.

To run for a school board post, a candidate must go to the clerk's office to fill out the required filing paperwork and provide the office with the signatures of 10 registered voters who live within the school district they seek to represent.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File