News Sections
Thornton Memorial Boys Club Scramble Winners
Updated May 5, 2013 1:08 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BEDFORD) - The annual Thornton Memorial Boys Club Scramble for the Kids was conducted Sunday at Otis Park, and it was another nice boon for the organization, which has suffered deep cuts recently from its United Way funding.

Nearly 30 teams hit the links and braved the heat for the cause, and many came away winners of hole prizes or team competitions.

The overall champion team consisted of David Gratzer, Aaron Sanders, Sean Taylor and Shea "Shankoppotamus" Hooten, while the runner-up foursome was Mark Schneider, John WIlliams, Jordan Callahan and Scott Callahan. Coming in third were the woodpeckers, Dave Woodward, Susie Woodward, Tom Woodward and Jason Woodward.

The putting competition went to Ted "Curly Head" Anderson

The list of hole prize winners is as follows: Hole No. 1 Closest 2nd Shot: Michael Gratzer; Hole No. 2 Longest Drive: John Robertson; Hole No. 3 Closest to Pin: Jack Taylor; Hole No. 4 Longest Putt: David Gratzer; Hole No. 5 Longest Putt: Corky Kern; Hole No. 6 Longest Drive: Larry New; Hole No. 7 Closest 2nd Shot: John Reiner; Hole No. 8 Closest 2nd Shot: Susie Woodward; Hole No. 9 Longest Putt: Ryan Hardesty; Hole No. 10 Closest to Pin: Luanne Ravenna; Hole No. 11 Closest 2nd Shot: Larry New; Hole No. 12 Closest 2nd Shot: Rick Robertson; Hole No. 13 Longest Putt for Birdie: Noah Browning; Hole No. 14 Longest Putt for Birdie: Bill Charles; Hole No. 15 Longest Putt for Birdie: Steve Owen; Hole No. 16 Closest 2nd Shot: Sean Taylor; Hole No. 17 Longest Drive: Jim Langley; Hole No. 18 Closest to Pin: Phil Inman.

Officials would like to thank everyone that contributed their time and money for a great cause.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File