News Sections
Hoosier Uplands Awards Scholarships To Students
Updated May 5, 2013 1:07 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(UNDATED) - This year marks the 20th year that Hoosier Uplands has given scholarships to local graduating high school students from Crawford, Lawrence, Martin, Orange and Washington counties.

David Miller, Hoosier Uplands Chief Executive Officer, says one scholarship is awarded to a senior from each high school, in each of the five counties Hoosier Uplands serves.

This year 11 scholarships have been awarded bringing the total scholarships since 1993 to 154 at a total of $195,150.

Three of the scholarships are partially funded through the Indiana Community Action Association's Joan Cline Memorial Fund.

The students will be recognized at a reception following the July 17th Hoosier Uplands board of director's meeting.

Those winning scholarships for 2012 are: Carole Johnson from Crawford County High School; Kilashandra Bowen from Bedford North Lawrence High School; Miranda Hollars from Mitchell High School; Lauren Henrichsen from Loogootee High School; Amber McCarty from Orleans High School; Chase Silvers from Springs Valley High School; Brian Resenbeck from Eastern High School in Washington County; Chelsea McNew from Salem High School and Kullan Blackey at West Washington High School.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File