News Sections
Hot Mommas Win LIve Well Lawrence County Challenge
Updated May 5, 2013 1:07 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BEDFORD) - The "Hot Mommas" claimed the top prize for the second annual Live Well Lawrence County eight-week wellness challenge.

They will split the $500 prize between the eight members and each took home a "Larry" trophy, named for the nickname for Lawrence County and representing the figure in the Live Well logo. Besides the cash prize, they were rewarded with the pounds they lost and the improvement to the health.

For eight weeks, the team walked, jogged, drank more water and added healthy foods to their diet.

Because the group consist of busy mothers, they exercised on their own, but supported each other on Facebook with daily logs.

Team captain Heather Reynolds say it was those daily posting that keep the team encouraged.

Marla Jones, coordinator of Live Well, said the team's friendship was key to its success and kept the team accountable to each other and reach their goals.

For most of the members, forming a Live Well team was the continuation of a weight-loss effort they began in 2011 when they joined Weight Watchers.

Reynolds has lost 84 pounds and last Saturday she ran her first 5K.

Team member Kortni Peek suggested the group join Live Well and her efforts to keep the team motivated earned her the award for Outstanding Team Member.

Part of Reynolds' nomination letter reads, "Kortni has lost a total of 13 pounds and 12 inches during this challenge. She has also been motivated to compete in 5K walks and to date this year, has won the women's division in all of the races she has participated in. Kortni's achievements are an inspiration to us all, and I would love for her to receive special recognition not only for her achievements, but for inspiring others to become healthier as well."

Reynolds said the group is working on a new 12-week challenge to stay motivated.

Members of Hot Mommas are Reynolds, Peek, Sara Steele, Penny Taylor, Julie Dillman, Kerry Zoller, Amy Sites and Christina Ridge.

Other winners include:

The non-competitive team Number Crunchers won its division with a perfect score. Team members are Debbie Deckard, captain, Deborah Hazen, Diane Simmerman and Jade

Non-competitive team winner: The Number Crunchers won its division with a perfect score. Team members are Debbie Deckard, captain, Deborah Hazen, Diane Simmerman and Jade McCracken.

$50 cash drawing: Krista McNeeley of "The Fab Four"

Most Improved: Kortni Peek of the Hot Mommas (lost 13 pounds and 12 inches during challenge) and Melissa Matson of "The Fab Four"

Outstanding sponsor: GM with three teams

Certificates of achievement: Recognized for outstanding effort and inspiration were Kortni Peek (Hot Mommas), Joe Henley (Team Can-Do!), Diane Lineback (For Good, Forever), Jack Barnes (GM A-Team), Jodi Wright (Library Geeksters), Dave Morthland (Dogwood Keep) and Melissa Matson (The Fab Four).

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File