WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

A Look At Lawrence County Races

Last updated on Wednesday, May 9, 2012

(BEDFORD) - Only 14 percent of voters turned out for the Primary election Tuesday.

A total of 4,670 votes were cast, 1,524 were absentee ballots and 3,146 voters went to the polls.

According to County Clerk Myron Rainey there are 31,170 registered voters in Lawrence County.

A Look At The Results

Shelli Yoder, former Miss Indiana, defeated four other Democrats for the chance to run against Republican Rep. Todd Young for southern Indiana' 9th district seat.

Young was unopposed in Tuesday's primary. He is running for a second term.

She defeated retired Air Force Gen. Jonathan George, former Lee Hamilton congressional aide Robert Winningham, John W. Tilford and John Griffin Miller in the Democratic race.


Both of Lawrence County's incumbent commissioners pulled out the Republican nomination in relatively close races.

District 3, Republican David Flinn, defeated fellow Republicans Ryan "Sully" Sullivan, Vanice Price and Sam Shaw. Flinn grabbed 43 percent of the vote (2,580 votes) to Sullivan's 38 percent (2,330 votes). Price garnered 637 votes, with Shaw taking 495 votes.

District 2 Republican Bill Spreen, made it past fellow Republican Ron Pridemore. Spreen had 55 percent of the votes to Pridemore's 45 percent. The official vote total, including absentee ballots, gave Spreen 3,137 votes to Pridemore's 2,651.

Currently they are unopposed in the fall. Democrats have until June 30 to add a challenger to the ballot.


Current Treasurer Paula Stewart was chosen by voters Tuesday night to continue in the Republican position. Stewart defeated challenger Linda Webber. Stewart received 58.75 percent of the votes with Webber claiming 41.25 percent.


Incumbents Gene McCracken and Jim Edwards joined newcomer Craig Turpen as the top three finishers in the county council race of the Lawrence County Republican primary.

The seven hopefuls were vying for three open seats. McCracken (3,328) was followed by Edwards (2,545), Turpen (2,476), Dan Terrell (2,215), Ed Epping (2,069), J. Scott Smith (1,796) and Bret Carmichael (1,741).


Chief Deputy Auditor Jody Edwards defeated Alberta "Peaches" Crane-Dillman. Edwards had 61.12 percent of the votes and Crane-Dillman 36.88 percent.


Lawrence County Deputy Coroner Robert Herr received the nomination to represent Republicans on the fall ballot for coroner. He is currently unopposed in the fall election.

In the four-way race, Herr received 2,965 votes (50 percent) to the 2,183 (36 percent) cast for his nearest opponent, Cody Medlock.

Finishing third was Scott Smith with 601 votes and Stephen G. Kidd received 245.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page