News Sections
Candidates Have Until Noon Friday To File
Updated May 5, 2013 1:05 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BEDFORD) - With only hours left until the candidates' filing deadline, at least five contested races are in place for the May primary election.

Candidates have until noon today (Friday) to file for office at the Lawrence County Clerk's Office.

The May primary serves as the nominating election, when political parties pick candidates for the November election. And in Lawrence County, there will be contested races for at least five spots on the Republican Party's ballot.

A look at the contested races thus far:

Commissioner, District 2: Ron Pridemore is challenging incumbent William Spreen.

Commissioner, District 3: Ryan "Sully" Sullivan and Vanice Price are challenging incumbent David Flinn.

Coroner: Incumbent John Sherrill has not filed for office. Seeking to replace him are Robert Herr, Stephen G. Kidd, Cody Medlock and Scott Smith.

County council: Incumbents Mike Branham, Jim Edwards and Gene McCracken have all filed for office. But they are being challenged by Bret Carmichael, Ed "Eppo" Epping, J. Scott Smith, Dan Terrell and Craig T. Turpen.

Treasurer: Incumbent Paula Stewart will face a challenge from Linda Webber.
In Orange County, there are only two contested races so far both on the Republican side.

List of those who have filed for office

Lawrence County ballot

The following is the list of filings for county offices at the Lawrence County Courthouse. (An * indicates an incumbent.)


  • Jody Edwards, Bedford, R


  • * Myron Rainey, Bedford, R


  • Ron Pridemore, Mitchell, R
  • * William E. Spreen, Williams, R


  • * David Flinn, Bedford, R
  • Ryan "Sully" Sullivan, Bedford, R
  • Vanice Price, Bedford, R
  • Robert Herr, Bedford, R
  • Stephen G. Kidd, Mitchell, R
  • Cody Medlock, Bedford, R
  • Scott Smith, Mitchell, R


  • * Mike Branham, Bedford, R
  • Bret Carmichael, Springville, R
  • * Jim Edwards, Bedford, R
  • Ed "Eppo" Epping, Mitchell, R
  • * Gene McCracken, Bedford, R
  • J. Scott Smith, Williams, R
  • Dan Terrell, Mitchell, R
  • Craig T. Turpen, Bedford, R


  • * Jessica Allen, Bedford, R


  • Lewis Maudlin Bedford, R
  • * Michael A. Robbins, Bedford, D


  • * Michael D. Arena, Bedford, R


  • * Paula Stewart, Mitchell, R
  • Linda Webber, Bedford, R


  • * Todd Young, Bloomington, R
  • Jonathan George, Heltonville, D
  • John Tilford, Bloomington, D
  • Robert Winningtham, Charlestown, D

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File