WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Lawrence County Commissioners Announce Appointments

Last updated on Wednesday, January 4, 2012

(UNDATED) - The Lawrence County Commissioners announced appointments for 2012 at their first meeting of the year.

Commissioner Chris May was elected to serve as president and Commission Bill Spreen will serve as vice president.

Other appointments are:

County attorney - Dave Smith

Highway Superintendent - David Holmes

Project Coordinator - Bob Dillon

Highway Forman District 1 - Troy Fountain

District 2 - Jimmy Lane

District 3 - Don Fleetwood

Cum Bridge - Larry Hardman

Garage Supervisor - Robert Woods

Highway Bookkeeper - Brandi Webb

Weights and Measures - John Cobb

Emergency Management - Valerie Luchauer

Veterans Officer - Bill Baker

Plaza Security - Mike Branham

ABC Board - Janie Chenault

4-H Board - Commissioner Bill Spreen

SIDC - all three commissions: Chris May, Bill Spreen and David Flinn

Community Child Protection Team - John Sherrill

Lawrence County Board of Health:
Health Officer - Alan Smith
Board members to serve 2 years:
Dr. George Sorrells
Dr. James Mount

Lawrence County Tourism Commission
Commission members serve 2 years:
Gene McCracken
Sam Carnell
Larry Root

In other business:

Commissioners heard from Marcey Phillips, of Healthy Balance, about the county's Wellness Program. Phillips has concerns that only about 20 percent or 40 people are currently involved and some of those are losing interest. Phillips would like to offer incentives to increase participation, by offering cash prizes when participants reach goals.

However, the county can't do that without approval of the state board of accounts. So the commissioners will meet with the insurance committee and discuss the options available and meet again with Phillips to discuss available options.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page