News Sections
Mitchell's Newly Elected Officials Sworn Into Office
Updated May 5, 2013 1:05 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(MITCHELL) - Mitchell's newly elected officials were sworn into office Friday night in front of a standing-room-only crowd.

The swearing-in ceremony started when Lawrence Superior Court I Judge Michael Robbins, a Democrat, swore in the five city council members: Matthew England, Nancy Miller, Gerald Tolliver, Joey Slone and Everett Ferrel. He then swore in Clerk-treasurer George James. That was followed by incoming Mitchell mayor Gary Pruett, who took the oath standing next to his wife, Donna.

Pruett told the crowd, "Keep me in line. Keep me honest."

Pruett said he's been working with outgoing mayor, Dan Terrell, to prepare for the job, noting that he spent most of Friday afternoon with Terrell learning the ins and outs of the job.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File