WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Winners of Persimmon Pudding Contest

Last updated on Monday, September 26, 2011

(MITCHELL) - Winners for the the 65th Annual Persimmon Festival Persimmon Pudding & Novelty Dessert Contest in Mitchell were announced Saturday afternoon.

Alverta Hart, chairwoman for the event was pleased with the turn-out and the many wonderful puddings and desserts entered. She appreciates all the hard work these cooks put into their creations.

A panel of four judges tasted and decided which desserts were the best.

"It was a tough job, there were so many great entries," Hart said.

First place in the pudding contest was awarded $200. First place for the novelty dessert was awarded $100.

Novelty desserts were anything except cookies. Persimmon pulp had to be one of the main ingredients.

The winners are:

Persimmon Pudding Contest:

1. Jonna Pemberton
2. Tracey Bowden
3. LaVonda Wilson
4. Phoebe Hamilton

Honorable Mention:

Janice Kimble
Judy Coffey
Diana Doss
Becky Goller
Steve lee
Judy Shaw

Novelty Dessert:

1. Mary Jo Losey
2. Sherry Hillenberg
3. Marcy Staley
4. Judy Darnell

Honorable Mention:

Marilyn Gifford
Karen Rusch
Julie Darnell
Thelma Brown
Yancy Unger
Patsy Gaines

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page