News Sections
Winners of Persimmon Pudding Contest
Updated May 5, 2013 1:04 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(MITCHELL) - Winners for the the 65th Annual Persimmon Festival Persimmon Pudding & Novelty Dessert Contest in Mitchell were announced Saturday afternoon.

Alverta Hart, chairwoman for the event was pleased with the turn-out and the many wonderful puddings and desserts entered. She appreciates all the hard work these cooks put into their creations.

A panel of four judges tasted and decided which desserts were the best.

"It was a tough job, there were so many great entries," Hart said.

First place in the pudding contest was awarded $200. First place for the novelty dessert was awarded $100.

Novelty desserts were anything except cookies. Persimmon pulp had to be one of the main ingredients.

The winners are:

Persimmon Pudding Contest:

1. Jonna Pemberton
2. Tracey Bowden
3. LaVonda Wilson
4. Phoebe Hamilton

Honorable Mention:

Janice Kimble
Judy Coffey
Diana Doss
Becky Goller
Steve lee
Judy Shaw

Novelty Dessert:

1. Mary Jo Losey
2. Sherry Hillenberg
3. Marcy Staley
4. Judy Darnell

Honorable Mention:

Marilyn Gifford
Karen Rusch
Julie Darnell
Thelma Brown
Yancy Unger
Patsy Gaines

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File