News Sections
FEMA Denies Lawrence County And Others Federal Assistance
Updated May 5, 2013 1:04 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(UNDATED) - Local counties will not be receiving assistance for storm damage sustained in April.

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security received word late Thursday from the Federal Emergency Management Agency that President Barack Obama has denied an appeal for Individual Assistance for citizens and businesses for 11 counties.

The request was for damage sustained by severe weather that began April 19. The 11 counties in the request were Decatur, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Harrison, Lawrence, Monroe, Pike, Posey, Vanderburgh and Vigo.

"It's difficult to express how disappointed we are for the citizens of these counties," said IDHS Executive Director Joe Wainscott." These grants would have gone a long way toward much needed relief for these Hoosiers."

Wainscott indicated he would recommend to Gov. Mitch Daniels that the state apply for a Small Business Administration declaration, which, if granted, would allow for low interest loans. IDHS will continue to seek other avenues to help Hoosiers who have been affected.

Individual Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, vehicles, counseling, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File