News Sections
Lawrence Among Counties To Appeal Federal Disaster Relief Decision
Updated May 5, 2013 1:04 AM | Filed under: Network Indiana
 Print    Archive    RSS

(UNDATED) - 11 Hoosier counties were denied federal disaster assistance following the spring storms that spawned tornadoes and torrential rains that left parts of the state flooded.

Now, the Indiana Department of Homeland Security is working with Decatur, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Harrison, Lawrence, Monroe, Pike, Posey, Vanderburgh and Vigo counties to gather additional storm damage reports so it can file for an appeal.

Arvin Copeland, IDHS Director of Emergency Response & Recovery, says Hoosiers can report any uninsured, unreported damage caused by storms or flooding beginning April 18 by contacting their local emergency management agency. Storm victims can also visit the IDHS website for more information.

Copeland says the agency will send the appeal to President Obama once all of the new information is added to the request.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File