News Sections
Lawrence County Officials Sworn In
Updated May 5, 2013 1:03 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BEDFORD, IN) - The stairway leading to the upstairs courtroom served as the stage for the swearing in of newly elected Lawrence county office holders Wednesday afternoon.

Clerk of the Court Myron Rainey asked the candidates to raise their right hands and swear to uphold the Constitutions of the United States and the State of Indiana.

Present at the ceremony, taking the oath of office were Sheriff Sam Craig, Prosecutor Michelle Woodward, and Assessor April Collins as well as County Council members Keith Dillman, Mike Wright, Jason Mullis and Commissioner Chris May.

Township Trustees Millard Jones, Ilene Hardman, Michelle Porter, Ruth Godsey, and Susan Evans as well as several of the township board members were all sworn in by Rainey.

After the swearing in ceremony a moment of silent prayer was held for the health of Lt. Governor Becky Skillman who started her political career in the same Lawrence County Courthouse.


« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File