WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Jackson, Orange, Washington, Crawford Included In Disaster Aid Request

Last updated on Monday, February 23, 2009

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Governor Mitch Daniels has requested federal disaster assistance…again…this time for 15 Southern Indiana counties that were severely affected by last month’s ice storms.

Jackson, Orange, Washington and Crawford Counties are included in the request, which was officially passed on to President Barack Obama.

If approved, that could mean the federal government could foot the bill for up to 75% of the cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the storm, and the repair of damaged buildings and facilities.

The other counties included in the request are Clark, Dubois, Floyd, Gibson, Harrison, Jefferson, Perry, Spencer, Switzerland, Vanderburgh, and Warrick Counties.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page