WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Several Counties Eligible For Federal Aid

Last updated on Thursday, June 12, 2008

(INDIANAPOLIS) - President George W. Bush has officially signed disaster declarations for 8 Indiana counties yesterday.

Governor Mitch Daniels was advised last night that the President has made available federal funding for Bartholomew, Hancock, Johnson, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Vermillion and Vigo counties.

That means the Federal Emergency Management Agency, or "FEMA," will be moving in to assist families and business owners suffering losses from this last batch of storms and the ongoing flooding.

Residents in those counties who need assistance can apply now by going online to fema.gov, or by calling 1 (800) 621-FEMA, or 1 (800) 621-3362 7 days a week between 8:00am and 6:00pm.

Later today, the state should be providing information on where FEMA will be setting up on-site operations.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page