WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Northern Half Of Listening Area A "Disaster"

Last updated on Sunday, June 8, 2008

Updated 6/8/2008 with closures and updated warnings
(INDIANAPOLIS) - Indiana Governor Mitch Daniels has declared the northern half of the WBIW listening area a “disaster area,” including Lawrence County.

Daniels declared 41 Hoosier counties a disaster area yesterday, making them eligible for federal disaster aid.

Counties in the disaster declaration include Brown, Greene, Lawrence, Morgan and Owen, however, the Counties of Orange, Washington, Martin and others further south and east seem to have been safe from this round of severe weather.

State, county and local police encourage travelers/residents to not call them about detours, rerouting or other non-emergency calls. In many cases, detours are not available since backup roads are also flooded.

General flood warnings have been declared for Bartholomew, Jackson, Lawrence, Southeastern Monroe, Western Jennings, Daviess, Southern Greene, Knox, and Martin Counties until 7:30am Monday, 6/9/2008.

Two fatalities and 1 injury have been confirmed as a result of the storms and subsequent flooding.

Road closures/emergency updates

Lawrence County

Monroe County

Greene County

Brown County

Morgan County

Owen County

Bartholomew County

Jackson County

Martin County

Current Disaster Declarations:

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page